Facebook honored as Entrepreneur Company of the Year!

Read Event Recap!

Facebook received the 30th HBSA/NC Entrepreneur Company of the Year Award at the Hyatt Regency in Burlingame on June 17 to an audience of over 360 HBS alum, sponsors, and guests.

Jeff Holland, HBSA/NC Chairman welcomed everyone, highlighting HBSA/NC club achievements this past Centennial year and thanking all those involved with organizing the dinner. Jeff gave special recognition to Dan Ahn (HBS’97), Phil Sanderson (HBS’97), and Ben Dubin (HBS’97) for their leadership as the dinner co-chairs and helping to raise funds for HBS Community Partners to enable them to achieve their public service mission by providing pro bono consulting and management assistance to Bay Area non-profit organizations. Dan, Phil, and Ben highlighted Jeff’s contributions to the club and thanked him for his outstanding leadership to HBSA/NC most recently having been the club’s Chairman over the past three years.

Facebook, the evening’s honored company, was introduced by Phil Sanderson who interviewed Founder and CEO Mark Zuckerberg and COO Sheryl Sandberg (HBS ‘95). Phil touched on many interesting areas about Facebook, including how the company was started, where the growth opportunities are, and their unique culture. Mark articulately shared that how Facebook was started at Harvard and its amazing growth, for example, how Microsoft’s investment in Facebook was a milestone in their company history. Yet when asked about their competition, both Mark and Sheryl did not view Facebook to be merely limited by the current social networking players, but focused on the Facebook user/consumer as being the lighthouse of their efforts.

Dan and Ben presented the award to the team following the interview which wrapped up the evening. Following the interview, Mark and Sheryl accepted the Entrepreneurial Company of the Year Award on behalf of Facebook. This award recognizes an outstanding company that exemplifies entrepreneurial leadership and success, shaping the industry in the process. Mark and Sheryl were joined by VP and CFO Gideon Yu (HBS ‘99), and VP Elliot Schrage and others.

Special thanks to this year’s Centennial sponsors- Accel, Asset Management and Morgan Stanley and notably the Centennial club members that attended, including the club’s first President, Jeanne Robinson (HBS ‘57) and the club’s first organizer of the Entrepreneur Company of the Year dinner, William Draper (HBS ‘54).

View photos from the event

Corporate sponsors:

2008 Entrepreneurial Dinner/Facebook
Accel Partners
Asset Management Partners Venture Capital
Morgan Stanley 
Battery Ventures
Dodge & Cox
Institutional Venture Partners
Lehman Brothers
New Enterprise Associates
Sutter Hill Ventures
TriplePoint Capital
Canaan Partners
Fenwick & West LLP
O'Melveny & Myers LLP
Pinnacle Ventures
Trinity Ventures
Bay Partners
Belvedere Capital Partners LLC
Charles River Ventures
Credit Suisse Securities (USA) LLC
Greylock Management Corporation
Gunderson Dettmer
Howard Fischer Associates, Inc.
IDG Ventures SF
Intel Capital
Kennet Venture Partners LLC
Mayfield Fund
Meritech Capital Partners
Morgan, Lewis & Bockius
Morgenthaler Ventures
ONSET Ventures
Opus Capital
Orrick Emerging Companies Group
Redpoint Ventures
Seacoast Capital Partners, LP 
Spencer Stuart
U. S. Venture Partners
Voyager Capital
Warburg Pincus
Western Technology Investment


Sign up for E-Newsletter | Privacy Policy
A Special Thanks to our Web Design Partner, Multilytics, Inc.
The Harvard Business School Association of Northern California
Official Member of the Global HBS Clubs Network
© Copyright Harvard Business School Association of Northern California, ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.

Alumni Development Software